An Engaging Story That Offers Empowerment and Acceptance of Learning Differences

“Exploring the topic of learning disabilities can be challenging, especially the social-emotional fallout for children who are struggling, but Thompkins-Bigelow accomplishes the task. Rose’s lively and colorful illustrations are eye-pleasing and showcase diversity. This is an engaging story that not only offers empowerment but also models understanding and acceptance of learning differences.” —The Horn Book Magazine…

A testament to personal empowerment, community, and art

“Readers will immediately root for [Bella] throughout this well-paced story that addresses the impact of gentrification and the power of young voices. The clear narration sends readers a strong message about civic responsibility and how they’re never too young to get involved in decision-making that affects their communities.” — Kirkus Reviews  A Washington Post KidsPost Summer…

11 Ways Parents Can Help Their Children Read

This is an excerpt from an article by Tim Shanahan . Dr. Shanahan is an internationally recognized professor of urban education and reading researcher who has extensive experience with children in inner-city schools and children with special needs.  Read his blog Shanahan on Literacy. 1. Teaching reading will only help. Sometimes, parents are told early…

A fresh approach to the familiar topic of bullying

An unforgettable novel from the New York Times bestselling Gordon Korman. Link, Michael, and Dana live in a quiet town. But it’s woken up very quickly when someone sneaks into school and vandalizes it with a swastika. Read more. Nobody can believe it. How could such a symbol of hate end up in the middle of their…

Book Donation Supports Survivors of Physical, Sexual, and Emotional Abuse

Because their mission is to  promote safe and thriving families, work to end physical, sexual, and emotional abuse, and provide victim support — we are donating a box of new children’s and Young Adult books, worth a total of $110 — to Rally in the Alley which benefits the Family Services Alliance of Southeast Idaho….

Recommended Reading: Short Stories

Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian nations. Check out Living Ghosts & Mischievous Monsters

Recommended Reading: Graphic Novels

Kamala Khan (a.k.a Ms. Marvel) is stretched too thin — literally. She’s having a hard time balancing schoolwork with being a good friend, being there for her family, becoming the best fanfic writer…and, you know, becoming a superhero. She’s tired and just barely keeping control BUT she’s handling it. But when a mysterious robot tries…