A stunning portrayal of the circuitous path of trauma and healing

Forever or a long long time“Complex and well-rounded characters. Authentic.” — The Horn Book

From rising new talent Caela Carter, author of My Life with the Liars, comes an achingly beautiful and endearing story about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they’ve found their forever home:  Forever, or a Long, Long Time by Caela Carter.

Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me, Leslie Connor’s All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook, and Sarah Pennypacker’s Pax.

Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe in forever.

So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey to go back and discover their past—for only then can they really begin to build their future.

Carter’s sophomore novel gently weaves the heartache and confusion of abandonment with the struggle for love and acceptance. Poetic and meditative, this emotionally enthralling novel undresses assumptions with purpose and hope. — Kirkus Reviews

“Carter delicately draws readers into the lives of a group of people overcoming obstacles as they learn how to become a family, said School Library Journal. “The novel’s heart belongs to the relationship among Emily, Flora, and Julian as they learn how to trust and to meet one another’s needs.”

This stunning portrayal of the circuitous path of trauma and healing teems with compassion, empathy, and the triumph of resilience — Booklist

Publishers Weekly said “This nuanced novel highlights the struggle to trust an adoptive family after a traumatic history in foster care.Carter’s layered narrative doesn’t shy from pain as it testifies to resilience and the expansive power of love.”

“Flora’s narration is deftly turned. The portrayal of kids whose lives have genuinely impaired them has grit and honesty as well as warmth, and it will open many readers’ eyes to the impact of trauma.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s